Disorderly Persons Offense Lawyer in Keyport New Jersey
Need a Local Attorney for Disorderly Persons Offense in Keyport
If you have been arrested in Keyport and charged with a disorderly persons offense, here is what you need to know. First, it is important to understand that a “disorderly persons offense” is a degree of a charge and not a specific charge in and of itself. Very often individuals will confuse disorderly conduct, which is a specific charge in New Jersey with a disorderly persons offense. With that being said, disorderly conduct, which is a petty disorderly persons offense, just so happens to be one of the most common disorderly persons offenses issued in New Jersey, including in Keyport. Keyport is a small little borough on located on the coast in northern Monmouth County. Over the last few years this small little town has undergone a significant resurgence, especially when it comes to its nightlife. As is the case with most towns when they tend to encounter a significant increase in their daily population, especially due to a desirable nightlife scene, the number of arrests tend to increase and Keyport is no exception. Most of the increase involves lower level charges, like disorderly persons offenses. Some of the most common include simple assault, harassment, disorderly conduct, underage drinking, possession of marijuana under 50 grams and driving while intoxicated. If you have unfortunately found yourself in this type of situation in Keyport, this is what you need to know.
What is a Disorderly Persons Offense? Do I Need a Lawyer?
As touched upon briefly above, a disorderly persons offense is a degree of a charge. It is New Jersey’s version of a misdemeanor. There are two types of misdemeanor’s in New Jersey, a disorderly persons offense and a petty disorderly persons offense. Anyone convicted of a disorderly persons offense could be sentenced up to 180 days in the Monmouth County Jail, fined up to $1,000, issued fees and assessments nearing $1,000 (depending on the charge) and scarred with a criminal record. Conversely, anyone convicted of a petty disorderly persons offense will be facing up to 30 days in the Monmouth County Jail, fined up to $500, issued fees and assessments nearing $250 and also be scarred with a criminal record. This record will remain on the individual’s criminal background until they successful petition the Monmouth County Superior Court for an expungement. But they must wait five years from the date of conviction in order to even begin the process ( in some cases three years). For more information on expunging a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, please click the link.
Do I Have to go to Court for a Disorderly Persons Charge? Can I Just Pay a Fine?
Anyone charged with a disorderly or petty disorderly persons offense will be mandated to appear in open court to deal with the charges. In other words, you cannot simply pay a fine via the mail or do a plea by affidavit in leu of appearing in court. All disorderly and petty disorderly persons offense that originate out of an incident in the Keyport will be sent to the Keyport Municipal Court, which is located at 70 West Front Street, for disposition. If however, the individual is also charged with an indictable matter, which is New Jersey’s version of a felony, then their entire case, including the disorderly persons offense will be transferred from the Keyport Municipal Court to the Monmouth County Superior Court, which is located in Freehold for disposition. For more information on the Borough of Keyport Municipal Court, including the hours of operation and who will be presiding over your case, please click the link.
What are Some Common Disorderly Persons Charges Issued in Keyport?
Due in large part to the active nightlife that the Borough of Keyport tends to see, some of the most common disorderly persons offenses we see being charged are directly related to alcohol in one way or another. They include, disorderly conduct, simple assault, harassment, underage drinking, possession of a fake id, assault by auto, resisting arrest and obstruction of law. As one would imagine, alcohol is not a defense to a criminal charge and although it might tend to explain an individual’s actions, more often than not it falls on deaf ears, especially when the prosecution and the judge are forced to hear these excuses on a daily basis.
Keyport Disorderly Conduct Defense Attorney
As you can see from reading above, the potential penalties for anyone convicted of a disorderly persons offense is not something to take lightly or underestimate. A criminal conviction for any one of these offenses will linger around for at least three years and in most cases, five years. Do not let an alcohol fueled event control the next five years of your life. A criminal conviction for a disorderly persons offense will almost certainly make obtaining and/or maintaining meaningful employment difficult if not near impossible. If you have unfortunately found yourself in this type of situation and would like to discuss your options with one of our Keyport criminal defense attorneys, please contact us directly at 732.858.6959 or you can try contacting us online.